A bit of a learning curve!

I came across this on Twitter: For most authors writing and finding your style has a bit of a learning curve. Writing today helps your writing tomorrow. [To live a creative life, we must lose our fear of being wrong.] @WrtrStat

I read as far as ‘finding your style has a bit of a learning curve’ before my exclamation: A BIT OF A LEARNING CURVE! It took me years to develop my own style; I always had an idea of what I wanted to write but finding my own voice was a huge learning curve. What I wanted to write in the early days was probably cross-genre; never going to be easy. My favourite author was Ruth Rendell and her explorations of the misfits, the unbalanced and the downright mad. But, and here was my conundrum, I love historical novels and that sense of being transported into another time and place where life was very different. Yet even though people in medieval times thought differently, had different morals, laws, societal expectations and religious constraints, human emotions were the same. We all feel anger, betrayal, love, lust, hate, jealousy and the mad were still misfits.

In teaching myself to write, I found my style. And I realised, for me, I had to find historical characters, a place, a time and events to pin my imagination upon and to create fiction around, fiction that, as far as I was concerned, was going to be about the mad, the unbalanced, the misfits.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

